Parody

dance

My old school friend

never gave up the habit of

biting her nails to the quick

she had German hair that stood in a halo

a little too thick

and we danced in 1950s skirts

to Shaking Stevens

her mom knocking on the door

turn it down I’m studying for my PhD

since her father left she has climbed

higher toward sea level

whilst we only knew parody

turning the dial on the radiator to

heat up the hormone room

life then was a warm window

two girls crossing the floor in bare feet

she’s staring at me from across the way

still nervous and antsy

as if exams were looming

and the cold nose of winter refused

to flatten our hat sprung hair

from its floss

8 thoughts on “Parody

    1. You know the old adage an apple a day? Can it be said an ankers a day? I think so … how is the weather? it’s gotten cold here though when I was over it was warmer than usual especially where I was, so packed totally the wrong stuff and was reminded why traveling is not for me so much (crazy airports et al) write me when you have time LMK how the sales are going, if I can be of any service and meanwhile be well my talented friend (are you going to see the new Underworld it’s coming out here tomorrow, arghhh!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t realise it was out so soon, you little font of knowledge you.
        And I’m good. I’ll send you an update. Kick me if I don’t, I’m losing my marbles.
        And what do you mean airports? I thought you just unfurled your wings and flew.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. “life then was a warm window”. I love the entire writing but if we, I should say, if I slow down and meditate on ” life then was a warm window ” I can imagine so many things, especially in some ways how life really did seem simpler then. A warm window would slso cast warm reflections! Thank you for sharing your gifts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

