Serendipity

jesusblgirlOne night

so long ago the date is erased

I sat in an unfamiliar room in grainy dark

closed my eyes

thinking of you

who had forsaken me

I asked the void

if you are there

reach out now

my cell phone glowed

one message received

we met

in dead of night

a strange cold

you had changed your hair

I was all dried up from tears

like Scandinavian fish

staring out of pickling jars

show in desiccated eyes

the measure of hurt

you put your head in my lap

and somehow

even though it should never have happened

we fused back together

like glass evolves over years

in mire of elements so easily broken

if not for chance

I am glass of a volcano

I always knew you would rupture

spewing me as lava

discard your carefully stacked fire

was it worth how I feel now?

screaming into silent night?

watching for you to hear?

when maybe you never did?

it was merely coincidence

we thought serendipity

30 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. You are killing me – this one choked me up. You brought tears to my eyes because this took me right back, and because your brilliance is everything.
    btw, I do not at all believe that everything happens for a reason. I’ve had years to ponder this and…no. Don’t believe it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. neither do i / at times i do at times i realize that’s just like saying ‘it’s just the way it is’ there is no answer in those words. i had a dream about you last night you were talking in french i was not understanding because i had a head ache i kept saying please speak up eventually you were talking inside my head and we were not either of us really in human form, it was most strange and did not involve disco music or dancing which i felt, was an important omission 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same. I HATE “it is what it is” the most. Someone (I think it was me) once said “it’s the equivalent of saying I can’t be fucking bothered to do anything about it so let’s say that in an attempt at faux philosophy and a weak try at saying it’s to do with destiny” ugh.
        No dancing or disco music! That’s wrong. Please correct that in the next dream 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes we can put that in our loathesome saying list can’t we? It seems like such a cop out (I have said it at times) because it says NOTHING. PLUS these days (puts grey wig on and says in old voice ‘in my day!’) there’s this total laziness of thinking it’s like fuck it i can’t be bothered (translation ; you are not worth it) so i totally agree – if someone you’re with or like is basically saying ‘i can’t be bothered’ (about you) then what’s the point? Totally a faux philosophy you’re so right about that. Yeah no dancing is no good – it’s time … isn’t it?

        Like

Leave a Reply

