Only one fall

loureedraven13

When we met

you treated me as if

all the world did no longer matter

so long as I

was within your sphere of sight

you said

sunlight was always

warm on the top of my head

turning me golden in your regard

as echoes of reflections

cast like arrows from dark windows

reaching up, tall glass shining down on us

I knew

a person on a pedestal

has only one fall

a fracture deep in marrow

hurting more than broken bones

when you finally

stop seeing my light

I will love you more

when you finally toss me aside

it will hurt me greater

such is the game of chess

of uneven love

a synonym of unevenness

two people who thought

hurt and pain could never

be part of their bond

becoming the greater sound

like blood in my ears rushing

filling up my cries

into pillows not stuffed enough

to stay dry

(art by Lorenzo Mattotti)

25 thoughts on “Only one fall

Leave a Reply

