Rise

IMG_1248.JPGGet rid of it

before you need to

not the day of travel

or when packing you run out of space

but before it clutters up the truth

all those things you thought you needed

need you more

their memories are chains around your neck

not swans

gliding like icing on cold water

get rid of stuff

it’s not precious

it builds up

until we cannot see beyond

close the door

start over

loose your wings

into willing air

lift up, let go

be gone

from the suffrage

of invisible bonds

24 thoughts on “Rise

  1. I have an affinity for books. Please don’t throw them away. I’ll take them. I love books and love reading them.

    There’s a lot of truth that does surround us with memories and yes, books do consume us whether good or bad.

    Such a beautiful poem sis. πŸ™‚ one of my favorite poems by you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I felt like you were trying to tell me something. I know I need to downsize before I move this summer. My bookshelf is filled beyond capacity but I can’t seem to part from the very things that made me feel connected with the world. I love books, but I have a serious collection problem. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ™‚ There is nothing wrong with loving things especially books. I don’t give all my books away, clutter usually refers to things you do not love, but you may covet. As so few read, I would never disqualify the value of books in all their forms xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I too have lost many years in much the same way. Why assume it’s your fault? Because someone at some point told you so? Or because you truly know it to be? I would ask that question first, as we can often assume it to be our fault when it may have nothing or little to do with us despite our being invested. What else did a person need? Good question! If you figure it out let me know! But know this .. being loved or not is no reflection on YOU it is simply a constellation and who is to say when it will occur?

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been decluttering for years – out one door, in the other. And our bookshelves are once again overflowing so time for another donation round. I have yet to learn the art of not keeping stuff ‘in case’ Or maybe I just need to downsize my home πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

