Her will

She is her own past and future

her knees bent behind her

muscles fattened with lethargy

why do I want her? his voice in the distance

why would I want those breasts that sling

slow about her bones like sorrow

those eyes that look as if they have cried

once too often

she is imperfect

she is not new and clean

nor ready for your molding

she is broken and fused and broken and fused

some of her will never knit back together

where gaps form there are questions

how did it come to this?

what made you think you could?

and she defies him with her knees

bent beneath

her proud back

arched taut, ready for arrow

he may think he is in control

he knows

nothing of her will

22 thoughts on “Her will

      1. Oh dear medieval lass, you are anything but simple and THAT is a compliment. (been thinking of you a lot as watching Outlander, thought it would be crap but it’s actually pretty addictive and good in its own genre and of course lots of Irish references)

        Like

      2. Sometimes I wish I had a TV to keep up with these series that are ‘addictive’ or ‘great’ or even ‘rubbish but addictive’. Then I wake up and realise I don’t have the time so it’s just as well 🙂

        Like

      3. Funnily enough I think that’s very apropos as I feel much the same. The external world does not interest me as much as maybe it should. I feel like you that I’m slipping more and more into my own little world, I suppose some would say that is abdicating responsibility? But we get to an age or place in life where we realize being really involved changes nothing, maybe it’s self-preservation to live in a world where we can bear the truth rather than share a world that seems comprised of cruel people?

        Like

      4. There’s a lot of truth in that. There’s also the idea that time is slipping away, that there are so many things left to do or be and the only way to make those things happen is cut out all the externals, focus inwards and be completely self-absorbed. Luckily I’m surrounded by people and responsibilities to remind me that life is also other people 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. You are, and you have a large family, it is grounding and necessary to have some approximation of an anchor for the creative soul you are, as you could easily live in your world because of the depth of your imagination – this is a compliment it means it’s not all theory as you profess, but a true creativity within you xo

        Like

Leave a Reply

