Single-mindedness

You never did understand me

It was more important that you

Get what you want

Maybe that’s why you never do

We are punished for our single mindedness

I could have told you that

All my life i wanted more than my parents could give

Even now I’d sacrifice myself for them

My love knows no bounds despite the irony

When they were busy they didn’t want me around

I stayed even when I thought I’d gone

You hold on

You said this would help you let go

I’m glad

I don’t think I’ve ever known how

That’s why ghosts have so much sway

I can’t always tell a real feeling from a dream

It’s like I’ve been alive for ages

And at the same time not at all

I never understood myself

I understand you though

The brand of cruelty you have

And how if they remember anything afterward

it will be that

You always knew what to say

When trying to thrust in the knife

And you were equally tongue tied when trying to do anything kind

