That’s all it took

friends-girls-lesbian-love-favim-com-302190_largeIt used to be a week

before she would ache

for the remembrance

and fold clothes ever tighter

around her shrinking

it used to be a matter of days

she could hold on to hours

turn them into coping

as if the weather were not

a vein throbbing her in heart

metriculating temperature

turning her ever colder

it used to be and now it is not

it is a moment

that’s all it took

before she turned to ice

and shattering

became nothing from so much

that is the feeling you hold

burning your balance in calf skin slippers

when love colors

and then removes

like a sudden bird

lifts from encroaching thaw

50 thoughts on “That’s all it took

  1. When they are so deep into your life that all it takes is a word not said or an action not taken, absent when they promised otherwise, that is trust and vulnerability and the most fragile truth.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. I think when you really truly let someone in and they leave, or cease to care it’s worse than anything because when they go they are gone and part of you is gone and whilst some seem to know how to get that back, others remain incomplete for staggeringly long periods of time.

      Liked by 5 people

  2. I once carried an egg around for a day. delicate and easily broken. I had to make sure that what ever I did – or where ever I went- the egg was not damaged. It took patience, care, determination -and above all love. The reason for me carrying this egg- was to remind my self and others- that the egg represented someones heart. Carrying anothers heart is delicate- if you cannot- then don’t pick up the egg in the first place.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Your respose coming from a writer as your self- humbles me indeed. Reading your writings has made a mark within my heart and soul. I engage with your understanding and through out the day I contemplate all that you have said…. ( You touch many others ) Thank you sincerely. Bobby.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to respond. Much appreciated . I know it takes time to reply sometimes- and yet you did… Thank you.. Have a great day……

      Liked by 2 people

      1. My pleasure – I always try to respond and comment as much as possible. I appreciate it, so I assume others do too. And I comment on comments too – if they catch my attention for some reason ! Sometimes the comments are more interesting than the post itself πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You are such a supporter of me and I hope I am to you though I am not as good about commenting I do read and I do care. You are more than a WP friend you are a REAL friend (like the REAL velveteen rabbit) and I know one day I shall prove that with my presence and a jar of vegemite in hand.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

