There you are

15094981_1170125696413806_5262358430950260450_n

about one hundred years ago

or three years

or just yesterday

I lay in your bed

smelling the indent and the roll

of your dream life when I am not

trying to look through your eyes

into your soul

About one hundred years ago

or three years

or just yesterday

I stood over your bed

stripping the sheets

smelling where you lived and breathed

all those nights and days

we should have been making memories

now folded away

About one hundred years ago

or three years

or just yesterday

I smoothed the mattress clear

of the weight you inhabited and

little traces curled here and there

persisting to remind me

of the way the moon lit

your sleeping face

now you will always have your eyes closed

maybe now you can see

the shapes of angels

watching over you until

it is my turn and I come to find

if you have been waiting all this time

a year, a month, a day

one hour is too long

without looking into your eyes

to see what I love reflecting back

like dark diamonds capturing stars

will wink out

and there you are

47 thoughts on “There you are

    1. Thank you so much, yes, that has been my pervading emotion of late, I wish I had the ability to disassociate from my emotions enough to write more objectively, sometimes I do, sometimes they are too insistent. xo

      Like

  1. What can I say that has not already been said here? This is eveything that I said before about your incredible gift and how it touches people’s hearts and puts into to words that which we feel but have not the words for. Je t’aime, N πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Candice Louisa
    This is one was one of those Texas Love Songs that has a happy bouncy tune
    and “liricos tristes” (sad lyrics).
    Wow! You did it without music.
    I am proud of you and jealous and feel like I found a diamond at the flea market.
    This is better than your best. A preface to your life’s work.
    So freaking excellent.
    Larry

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Larry, hello there, thank you for calling me by my full name people rarely do and I so appreciate it πŸ™‚ I do remember that song now that you mention it, (I think) I love that kind of music, this really is nothing like that kind of music, then again the bitter sweet aspect maybe? Ah my flea market doesn’t even sell good second hand My Little Ponies so i’m sure you could find me there, that’s so lovely of you to say, thank you now I only have myself to live up to πŸ˜‰ (hugs) (and kudos to anyone who says ‘freaking’ I love that expression) xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

