Eight out of ten cats prefer

th.jpg

Of late

PBS has woken me up

furious with their hypocrisy

purporting to be fair when clearly they are not

and half-an ear to the news

I thought of all the times I refused

to hear the truth

sloshing in the saucer beneath the china cup

so breakable

if we step backward and review ourselves

why we did what we did

it is as if someone else steered the wheel

avoiding black ice

I could no more tell you how or why

than the neighbor who hears me in the morning

feeding the strays

tuts under his breath, taking a drag

of menthol cigarette

because the strays you see

piss against his wall leaving

yellow stains on his brick work

and I did not consider that

when I opened the tin

22 thoughts on “Eight out of ten cats prefer

      1. There was a fire, it didn’t make the paper as it didn’t spread further than my waste basket where I threw the dozens of bad selfies that didn’t make the cut! πŸ˜‰

        Like

  1. Well, if the neighbor had been suvconsciencly friendly to the cats and then nice to them in the real world, they would have found somewhere else to piss. Either that or they have been listening to PBS with you and just expressing their thoughts on the wall!

    Like

Leave a Reply

