To the bottom

marie-lise-diagonala

Go down

very far down

to the bottom of the sea

I shuck you off

zip up my boots

think of corn husks and masa and chili staining madder root

lips tarnished from pleasuring you

friend without the benefit of youth

I make you come even when you’re done

leash between us yoked at the throat

pain has long learned not to show

as macular degeneration steals acuity

we are what we want to see

but you are a poor vintage

you don’t convince the blind

we who cover ourselves in your outpouring

know more of you than crows

lining hot wire

know of the sky

10 thoughts on “To the bottom

  1. I’m wondering about the spacing on the last two lines. I mention that because sometimes I have the same issue. Where do I put the line break? Should I use a comma instead? It’s a pickle that I’m kinda familiar with in regards to poem/thought flow. Any ideas? Am I being too nitpicky? Does this make sense?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t see it but I sure appreciate your feedback as feedback helps us so much as writers, know what works for others rather than Just for ourselves ! Thank you! I’m not nitpicky at all so it can be useful hearing another closer inspection as i often go in the reverse direction because my parents were nitpicky and it out me off so as an adult I rejected it but every perspective has value and we can learn from other angles

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

