It’s a girl

Jean Shrimpton in Harper’s Bazaar.jpegYou try to convince yourself

but the only person who believes you

is you

with your hands in the warm water of the sink

faraway you hear the sound of dishes being washed

see a woman standing straight backed

her toes inverted

she’s staring out into the night garden

wondering why she believes herself

when everyone else can see she’s a fraud

a pretence

someone who subsists on delusions

like age doesn’t matter and

success isn’t measured by attainment

her thin veined hands

busy with pots and pans

to keep from stillness striking her dumb

 

behold her truth

she has gone through life with her mouth sewn

tied into knots of her own doing

and a few given her at birth

when they lifted her out into the stale city air

and said

well I see that

it’s a girl

16 thoughts on “It’s a girl

  1. It is hard, when nobody else believes in you, and you let other people’s opinions about you get the best of you, and yet, this is something we all must cope with on a daily basis, because we are social, and there’s no way we’ll ever be able, to get rid of the noises that we receive, form a second-to-second basis. .

    Like

  2. This brought to mind the middle-aged housewife, disenchanted as she comes to terms with her life, feeling undervalued as she performs the unpaid, servile tasks expected of her gender, and perhaps pretending to find self-fulfillment in it all while others know that there is little value in her service.

    Like

    1. Thank you Eric. Today I’m sad because I wrote about Avoidant Personality Disorder on a friends page, just basically saying we think effusive people are warm and sincere and sometimes they are not, and some internet Troll decided to use me as a punching bag and basically accuse me of being an asshole .. so I spent too much time being sad about that I need to learn to let that shit go! Thank you for your kind words I really needed them! I appreciate YOU my friend

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I absolutely love the deep truth is this piece. Reminds me of my birth culture. Expected to keep it all in. If we dare speak, then we are crossing over into manhood!. Thank-you 💞

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for this lovely comment it is very appreciated! I do think that the culture of birth in some cultures is still undervaluing women and I would hope one day all women are treated with the respect and equality they deserve. Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s my absolute honor and joy . Growing up in a family of both girls and boys, as girls we were trained to speak to the male literally on our knees ( that was described as a good respectful girl/ woman). And if as a woman dared to speak or want otherwise, then they are labeled faminest. I absolutely love old traditions but I am deeply troubled when I see women lowered to less of human beings.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly! I know some Hispanic families that basically treat the female as a second class citizen and it’s true in all walks of life all cultures all skin colors and until that ENDS we’ll never be free. I’m so glad that you are able to share your experiences to help others learn how wrong it can be and how hurtful but that you can SURVIVE which you have. Your words are courage to me.

        Like

Leave a Reply

