One shall remain unseen

tumblr_m1x0zblvdv1qa8m3eo1_1280

The owl

left gouges to your scalp

without a mouth

you spoke

do not go my way child

learn from error the better path

where? where granny?

behind you

where? where granny?

in front of you

where? where granny?

beside you

where? where granny?

she stood in formation an army of past

familiar eyes different words

don’t go my way, forge your own

inherit nothing of madness left to roam

your genes like spirits grown too wild

avoid the drink it gives you ghosts

spare the rod, saturate desire

lust for obliteration and self immolation

my reality makes shoes disappear under beds

the ache of springs unused to their test

it is our code to set fire to the best of ourselves

stay your hand as it passes

the naked flame

see into my cinders

another method for staying sane

when you itch … when you wish

to fling yourself into oblivion

think of me

cold and dead

this is not your future yet

you have pockets heavy with planting

get to it, press deeper the iron into soil

until you pull out the old roots taking space

make room for new

it is the labor of the faithful

tiring and requiring patience

do not forget to reach in deep

for just when you think you’ve got the last

one shall remain

unseen

37 thoughts on “One shall remain unseen

  1. This is gorgeous!
    It’s a shame I am not one for Tattoos. I admire them on others but I’ve never had any of my own.

    I would get this:

    lust for obliteration and self immolation

    because that is by far one of the most beautiful lines I have ever seen. ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I could want to burn it all away …but that desire to want to is not there in me…there is an intense perverse sweetness to wanting to run my mind around my past from the melancholy, to the passions once known, to the hate that was owned and wallowed in to the triumphs and failures of all my days.. Taking ALL that in and bringing forth something out of me seeming better even in spite of it… to convey this NEW outlook, view, angle, or epiphany to it all within myself and to others who are surely in the same place as I…

    (and guess what Miss C you do that dear…every time you write…

    Nice words yet again… but I always like showing you that your path is not a straight one and your spirit rides high and full of fire with much to offer another (and yourself)

    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your poem packs a punch on every line.

    You express wisdom that we all need to reflect and take advice on.
    What our past has done, we can learn from and take control of now. Whatever futures hold for us…that future will decide for us.

    You are an influence. Beautiful writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some lessons must be carried on through generations. I like that idea. It is one of many reasons why having children is so important and empowering and necessary. Thank you so much D I appreciate that. I love it when you have read a poem I wrote and liked it. Thank you so much for your support it helps me keep going instead of thinking why am I even doing this?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Are you kidding? You are a unique talent and one of the best poets on WP. Its a privilege and an honor to be able to read your work for free. I love you kiddo. You are such an inspiration ❤❤❤

        Like

  4. This reminds me of how I felt the first time I read you. My mind blown and aching for more of your words (sorry that came out a little more sexual than intended!)

    Want to bathe in this:
    “spare the rod, saturate desire/
    lust for obliteration and self immolation/
    my reality makes shoes disappear under beds/
    the ache of springs unused to their test”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dearest Girl, I was thinking of you last night in relation to your post. I can’t imagine you being blown away by me because A you are blown away by many things but more importantly B you write so much better than most people (probably not fair to say this but I’m going to anyway!) how could anyone really blow you away? I’m very grateful though! (even the aching!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I still think I am a serious lightweight compared to the two of you. I’m learning but I am never as elegant as you or as interesting as SK. You both dazzle in a way that I can’t. I feel like a cave woman with a club

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

