The parrot

fffffThe parrot took me to school

not the other way around

though he was made of cloth

he lived

when teachers asked

Candy why do you have a parrot on your shoulder?

I turned, flashed a gap-tooth smile and said

what parrot?

squawk, squawk

the parrot, my secret captain

a life saver for drowning children

learning to swim without floatation device

thrown in the deep end at first a mouthful of water

then spectral lights and buoyancy

I, a reluctant pirate

ransacking empty ships

lest I become immortal

O heaven

forbid

when I turn around

he is no longer on my shoulder

smiling with glass eye and slightly damp feathers

36 thoughts on “The parrot

      1. ha ha ha! I was an odd child … little hope for normalacy I’m afraid. Toys were (and perhaps still are) a succor and a comfort. I feel sometimes looking into the old glass eyes of an ancient bear, more warmth and sincerity than those of a human-being. I realize how this sounds but I was a Faraway Tree addict so you’ll have to forgive me πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

    1. ha ha ha ha! HOW did it get into your kitchen?!!!!! BTW I forgot to tell you when I went to New England I went up to where the Shakers were, to one of their larger places, turns out there are only TWO Shakers left in the entire US and they came from Liverpool, UK (had no idea) and were set up by a woman who basically felt people should be celibate and live for God and live communally, because she’d been married and had many children die. Very interesting. Random aside but I thought it because they did a lot of woodwork – sad to think they are now extinct. Is the parrot painted? πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  1. My girls, now grown, still have their beloved stuffed animal friends, Humpty and Ahh Bear, and my husband and I still quote the things that Humpty and Ahh Bear (not the girls) said or sang. You and your parrot would fit right in. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. This made me smile 😊 shiver me timbers matey… Doesn’t really fit, but I couldn’t think of any other pirate sayings at this moment. (Reading you has lifted my spirits today… Thanks!!!) ღ

    Like

Leave a Reply

