Infinity

img_7094Life

don’t you think

should come with a disclaimer

do not read as literal

wash on gentle cycle no spin

use bleach sparingly or often

depending upon situation

leave to dry outdoors

don’t put in the tumbler on hot

iron gently or not

 

I like my coffee black and mornings silent

but for the licorice dogs bark at fleeing squirrel

or jackdaw hammering out his concert

and when the day draws to a close

I like my light diffused and close

leaving darkness to itself

and all the wanderings the mind shall make

haunting this house in repose

to read of worlds you’ll never go

for travel is not as it used to be

stripping shoes and facing x-ray’s indignity

nor indeed our imagined futures it seems

requiring new needles to play favorite song

 

they say as you age your circle reduces

with regret behind those words

I have no regret of this, life is like a purse

pulled together by string to keep it taut

once filled with coins of many colors

gradually emptying its burden

I find the reduction a balm

within less there is more

time to consider and become still

further into the briar and gallop

you’re never lost if you’re seeking

you’re never found if you don’t let

a hand pluck you from the notion

you’re alone

 

she turns her warmth across my own

we hold on tightly as we head toward our door

the last to open

the last to close

she is me I am her

we may not be here tomorrow

but still the silver lines of existence shine

like exclamations in claiming dew

drenching our run further

toward the echo of our beginning

69 thoughts on “Infinity

    1. My friend I agree. It is something you learn with experience, you cannot learn it from words on a page, as you say about lilac, it’s a feeling or a scent, subtle but affirming nonetheless. Thank you so much for reading.

      Like

    1. I’ve been thinking a lot about our communique and what we’ve been talking about and that has come out in some writing about the nature of forever etc, see how you are a quiet and steady inspiration? My friend please know if you feel that way you have those including myself who CARE and are here for you do not EVER feel that writing me is intrusive or will bring me down it never does, I am here and I care. Write me over the weekend?

      Liked by 1 person

    1. WOW! What did I do to deserve this? Thank you! I was feeling quite discouraged and your words literally burned light into my discouragement. Thank you so much my friend. You know I learn so much from you – but you have a very good heart also. Thank you for being the person you are. I feel blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Feather you are a serious poet and your work is stand out. Don’t ever get discouraged, I wish I had half your talent. Don’t let the good heart bit become common knowledge, where would I be without my diabolical persona?

        Like

      1. Not at all. We should think of either two people whom we feel are applicable and work them into one poem – over-all unsung – with a common theme OR write about one person from two vantage points? I’d say the latter makes more sense what do you think?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah so we pick a person we feel is ‘unsung’ and we both write about them and combine it into one poem? What do you think or would it make more sense to each write a poem and compare? I would say let’s write it together as one. (You are never ignorant)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Just wanted to let you know, I ordered the encyclopedia of rape, I got it second-hand via Amazon because I couldn’t afford $60 so sorry about that, but I can’t wait to get it. Thanks so much for letting me know about it. I worked at a rape crisis center for quite some years, both in Europe and then in America, as an advocate and then after my masters, a counselor. I had never heard of this book I wish then I had and I’m excited to get it. I know it’s on a heavy topic but I have always believed MORE not less should be written on this, I very much admire you for this work and will be sure to write you about it afterward and leave feedback on amazon. Thank you again and also well done, what an incredible achievement. Totally respect.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh gosh–thank you so much! I know these books are so expensive. I usually ask people to ask their libraries to buy it. 🙂 I believe more information is also better. I admire you for working at a rape crisis center and as an advocate. Thank you again!

        Like

  1. Yes as the years pass your circles reduce and life becomes lighter with less to do, and more time to think and find yourself. A time to reflect, rejoice your past endeavours and live the sunset days in peace. Thanks for your beautiful words. Much Love and Light from me 🙂 ❤

    Like

    1. I had actually thought of that old phrase about pigs ears, lucky I didn’t change it to that, it would have been a rude awakening! 😉 Thank you D. I was reading some of your comments to Merril this Am I just love her work she’s so talented and you are such a good friend to us, for your support and reach. I am so grateful thank you my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a really lovely thing to know. I feel very gladdened to ‘know’ you online and I feel you are a true friend. I intend to remain so until we both eat Jackie’s Indian food together and then some xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is heartwrenching…but there is a sweetness to it….and I felt my heart rise to the lines:

    you’re never lost if you’re seeking

    you’re never found if you don’t let

    a hand pluck you from the notion

    you’re alone

    I believe that is true. So well done, My Beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe retaining the sweetness is the key. I expect many of us get so bitter and jaded that we cannot ever be sweet. I know I have felt that way. It is so easy to lose the innocence. And yet, when you see someone break out into a smile and the child is once more there, it’s like this revelation, so we must never let ourselves lose touch with that even if we keep it mostly inside. I would also say many people are boarded up. I know I am a bit, and I try not to be, even if you can shine light through one window it brings illumination. Thank you for reading this and for your thoughts on it – you are appreciated very much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. BTW what you wrote in your email earlier, totally that’s how I felt and why I waited a day so I could be sure to answer properly I get that, in this world of immediacy it’s so important. I think you consider things which makes you a rareity.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Your vision and words a triumph.

    And I relate a lot about life having a disclaimer.
    If we had known better or our own family having to give us a heads up…then we all be much wiser about life ahead. At least in a good perspective.

    Brilliant writing as always. 🙂

    You make the world a better place.

    Like

  4. If the proper disclaimers were put on life, then no one would ever do it. Life is daunting on the best days and unbearable often times.

    I am thinking about the shrinking circle and wonder if I ever had a circle at all of it that was just an illusion. Honestly, the thinking of it makes me long for the silent mornings and the reality of a solitude bereft of things like hope and faith and love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ha! So true! I think many of us would be like ‘no freakin way’ a person asked me the other day why I was not a ‘prepper’ given that I do think the world will end (virus/environment, who knows?) I said because prepping implies you want to live through it! I would not! Does that mean I don’t want to ‘live enough?’ what is ‘enough?’ what and who defines our measures? You don’t have a shrinking circle my friend you have tons of friends

      Like

Leave a Reply

