Semblance

213274660_0a9586af47_oI can’t keep up with the rapidity of

Smart Phones and Bit-Fit Watches

so

I’m empty wristed and void of clutch

abandoning the world of technology and rush

hurtling without break down San Fransisco streets

 

remember the days when

we took summer vacation?

not fearful of boss or observing every text?

remember when

the phone did not ring late at night

unless it was about death

or

wake us at first light with impatient query

colleagues who

may get to work before you

stealing your slot before you knew what you lost

 

remember when

you ate a warm breakfast, read the paper

talked to your kids

stroked the dog

noticed the door needed a new paint job

revelled in the glory of Sunday mornings

not getting out

of a deep filled bed

arms and feet and legs

splayed

 

remember when

guilt

panic

and shame

anxiety with a twist of lime

in the gut

did not become

the drink du jour nor

were cocktails and dinner parties so rare

for now we walk among penitents who cannot abhor

excess

 

remember when

you had time for yourself?

it was not a surprise looking in the mirror

seeing how years had passed

how long it had been since you touched or were touched

lain in the bath with the lights off

 

now

you feel the rapid beat

of your heart beneath your sweat proof deodorized clothes

you feel the burn in your gut

of coffee on partially eaten stomach

you feel the rush

you feel the senselessness

and friends you have no time for

and family are strangers

and the dog that barks in the night

is you

crying out

 

muzzled and penned by day

you sit at your desk reading online about

why sitting too long will

kill

and how important it is

to make time

time? You say

what is time?

I know not how to capture it

but I can – if you ask

always tell you how to find

another minute to check

my digitized semblance

of life

59 thoughts on “Semblance

      1. Very many thanks, Candy. I was using the ‘we’ in general terms; but also tuning in to your evocation of a past age before IT and ‘virtual reality’ when we all had to relate to each other for real.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ah, I remember so many things… no phones if the lines were out. The black out of NYC and being home alone after I was stuck in an elevator. And playing by myself because I grew up an only child and yet I found tons of things to do without computers and digital things. I could simply go out on the streets of the city and watch all the crazy people….of which I grew up to be one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We remember many of the same things, live with the rush, all about them, I’m so important I have to drive 90 to work, crazy. I’m attached by chains at times, many of my own chains. You feelings are real, the questions pertinent and the sorrow weaves in and out. I want to reblog because of the beauty, most important the questions you stop to ask and the feelings the answers bring.
    Melinda

    Like

  3. See you do write things most won’t. Very well put, funny short story
    When I was a kid in the 90’s I didn’t know what a computer was. I didn’t have one I didn’t even know the Internet existed. I went to school one day and said *what is this machine a tv?* haha, I didn’t know cell phones existed until I was 16. I grew playing outside a lot not much tv. I loved and still love the night air.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The way I interpret this poem.

    Remembering the good old times when everyone enjoyed life for what it truly was and weren’t bombarded with technology of today.

    The feeling of no internet before felt like a giant relief. People actually communicated and talked in person…face to face interaction.

    Today, seems as if everyone is in a big panic scared. No one wants to communicate in person or by phone anymore. They much rather text because its short and has little value in communication. I’d much rather communicate in person or by phone because when it comes to conversations, you can listen to the other persons voice, understand true feelings, and feel what they are feeling emotionally in a conversation. Details are what matter in listening & observation in a persons voice.

    Writing online can have misconceptions and miss-communications.
    There’s very little of any emotion.

    For once people should communicate by phone or hang out in person. Enjoy the precious moments of now. Don’t get caught up with your phone too much. Life, love, & memories are that last things we have left in us all.

    Powerful poetic write and I relate to this so much.

    Love, love, love it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Asmov Darling, you’re such a love, and a baby space pilot so you do not remember those days try as you might, unless you hark back to a former life! πŸ˜‰ Totally agree about little emotion online that’s so true – then again sometimes it works and is MAGIC wonder whom I could be referring to? (evil snicker)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I never had internet around me till’ the end of my high school years. It’s weird I know…I never really paid any attention to the machine that much. πŸ™‚

        No, there are no evil snickers. In fact, I prefer wear ‘doc marten boots’. It helps relive stress and fills the yummy with good source of fiber. πŸ™‚ hahahahaha!!! Sorry, I had to make a joke. πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. I ponder this quite a bit. Depending on the day, I think it’s perception distorting reality or I think it’s just absolute truth. I think technolgoy, at very best, as been a mixed blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Technology really is a double edged sword. It gives us so much, but also takes away (lessens) some of the physical human connections that we had, like taking the time to handwrite a letter…at one time this was the only way to communicate long distance. Or actually paying a neighbor or friend a visit, because that was that is how people interacted. No phones, no texts, no computers or internet. The world seemed a much smaller, more intimate place perhaps. Now I get peeved at the way people like to txt all the time instead of having a face to face, or even phone conservation. While we are indeed more connected than ever to one another through technology, I fear we are losing something, something almost intangible, something that helps care for one another just a little more. Perhaps that’s just naive nostalgia on my part, but it sometimes feels that the more technology we integrate into our lives the less human we become, if that makes any sense.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

