L’enfant sauvage

CruciformLast night I felt fire

inhabited my chest

my breasts burned as if they had caught a heavy sickness

I tore my clothes off and feeling the tile beneath my feet I stood

feeling prickling across my hot skin

watching the electric storm rake dark sky

wondering my part in anything if at all

or why

some days we feel such clamouring disturbance

deep in ourselves as if someone else

is trying to get out or some displacement, some wrong

as yet unfound pulls our string

what is the mix of this temperament and how

do we stay still when everything is at once uneasy and fraught

an inner lament bound with wire

the hairs on my arms standing up

watching time spin over head

I couldn’t concentrate or think

it was as if all higher function were lost

returning me to who I was

in instinct

crouching naked beneath lightning

like a feral being

nothing in my mind except a longing

to tear through the artifice

strip myself of those conscious things

fear and routine, habits and awareness

I longed to return to that

stark undimmed polar

of reaction and gut

shaping my response

who needs all the books and learning

let us stand once more

stark against thunder

and roar
sate our anxieties and the ever-present woes of our world

on the savagery of relenting

giving over our human skin

hanging it on the post

dropping our keys and footprints

to streak instinctive and returned to wild

across the green

blurring with rain and rush of leaves

gone from our homes

the doors stand

open

and soon

all is wet

all is calm

In claiming my savagery

I find peace

41 thoughts on “L’enfant sauvage

  1. “Returning me to who I was…..” Such a wonderful writing! In our society, it seems so many are lost and in need of “Returning me to who I was”. Less and less personal contact. Social media provides placebo friends. Addiction to devices is so obvious but not yet properly addressed. Love, love love this writing! How many people really know who they are or once were?. Aweplause ! Take a bow! Thank you for turning your observations in to art.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Returning me to who I was” I interpret this as returning to who we are as a child within. Not forgetting a child of heart of what makes us human. Sometimes, being an adult and taking things serious can really being us down or cry. But if we think and go back to our roots, its always there in our hearts to know where we come from and who we are as happy and fun people inside.

    Beautifully written poem sis and your always master of truthfulness and heart. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Wow and double wow!!! This is one of the most splendid pieces you have every written. And I wanted to jump right in there with you and run right alongside you doing everything you did!!!
    Je t’aime, Natalie 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I miss you! I don’t see you here enough (I’m greedy!) I hope you are doing okay, did you see TCU in the National News the other day? That young man who won the Fullbright? I thought of you. I so appreciate you liking this piece!

      Like

Leave a Reply

