You begin me

vvvvLay your hands on me

braced against bad weather

what a welcome

coming in from the cold

It’s every time you gather me close

all I can hear is your heart

beating like

Gabriel’s drum of skin

at the beginning of the world

you

begin me

with each

breath

forming laborious as

fatigued children

stubbornly persist

to dance

with half sleeping limbs

slack and graceless

In their abundant honesty

unguarded weariness

not intoxicate enough

to peel them from an ache

for music reveals

your song

If translated

portioning day into ribbons

each wreath a moment

pressed behind slide

to reexamine in mind palace

the sound of life

cymbals beneath earth

flutes and oboe forming wood

paper as soft as hide

writing our language by intoned key

first a rise, a fall, a swell

contagious momentum picking

up trained netting drawing flickering

into chalice

drunk deeply by fingers of pyre

dipping their ember quills

thirsty ducks carving water

coming up for air

gleaming plumage

reflecting our shape

silhouetted love

It’s every time you gather me close

all I can hear is your heart

beating like

Gabriel’s drum of skin

at the beginning of the world

you

begin me

30 thoughts on “You begin me

  1. This took my breath away!!! And you thought you’d written all that you had in you. And here is one of the most spendidiferous things of yours that I have ever read!!! Oh my goodness but you have a way with words and touching the heart and soul of your readers. You are simply amazing!!!! πŸ™‚ ❀

    Like

    1. Dear Girl of the Green Dress thank you so much Debbie, my favorite dance teacher was called Debbie she worked at a dance studio called The Pineapple and was impossibly beautiful and talented, so I’ve liked the name ever since for entirely biased reasons πŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for reading my blog I am very grateful.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello! I’m simply in awe of this poem. I happened to be looking for the tag “mind palace” and happenstance lead me here. Wow. I’m trying to make the words happen so I can leave you with a comment that’s even worthy.

    I loved how you played around with diction, line breaks, enjambment, and the overall tone of the poem. At first I was a tad hesitant about the lack of punctuation; however, I think that works in favor of enjambment. If I was in a poetry class, I’d probably tell you to play around with punctuation; but since I’m not, why bother? I think one of the greatest aspects of free-verse if the FREEDOM to choose how to set up (or not set up) your piece. Not having punctuation or stanzas or lower/upper case words is the beauty. There’s always a reason something turned out the way it did, right?

    Now that I’ve left a long-winded comment, I’m off to check out the rest of your blog. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

