Less

165549735_cd2d7777b5The future will not decide, I decide

if I find myself alone in possession of these feelings

at an age when the cliffs stand a little deeper in the water

the sea will recede and return the next day

less me

for it is my belief

we can make choices

based upon empty doorways

standing between the weft of things

knowing, our time

though it goes blurred into fathomless future

need not defy sense

and us born with less

we don’t want trinkets and rooms of wrinkled souls

talking about the caucus of the world

we want to live and burn

in that bright solitary

and when those we love

are no more

our place is not to wait for natural means

but take to surging waves

walk through a mirror of water

regaining in emptying out

those painful places we hold

dear and near to us

all these years we inhabit life

like a nervous electricity

will wait to strike

just once

and leave the deed

blackening the tree

long it stands marked

for future generations to remark

I wonder how

I wonder what

caused this burn

she lays her hands against her pulse

such a little flicker of life

and then

one blow

one determining

and it is snuffed out

to join the star dust of our might

you think me cowardly or without insight?

I hear nothing now

but the swell and call of shells

hypnotized by the whorl

of their ever decreasing

circle

returning to

sand

54 thoughts on “Less

      1. I read this with a feeling of endings and some of the things you’ve been writing about lately. And I always find my heart waiting the very same things most of the time. I wish for you to choose to remain out here, wherever “here” is, with me. I’ve found so much in meeting you and sharing words back and forth. I know you as a friend, an ally, a kindred spirit, a mentor, a muse, a confidant, a teacher, a critic, a collaborator, a heroine, an activist, a powerful force and even a crush. So my wishes are always selfish in that, I wish you to decide to stay with me and never feel like you need to go anywhere else.

        Much love, Shieldmaiden. πŸ’™

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I think you are one of the most unselfish people of either gender that is out there. Why? Because you champion the underdog, the oppressed, the stamped on and the needy as well as those who are swimming alongside you, and you always put others first. That is rare. And when it occurs it occurs often so a person can say ‘look how giving I am’ and you never do that, you just give without any expectation or desire for recompense. That is because of your principles and your knights faith and way of living. I often think if others were to consider the value those principles have, and could have the courage and heart to endeavor to become those things, the world would be a far better place to live in. I have not met many who I could say embody that type of person, who is effectively a warrior against injustice and a champion for those in need, but you are, and that is why I value you as my friend – and am so glad I met you through our sister R. I can see why she adored you and I add myself to a long list of people better off for your existence. It makes it hard though, as few are like you. Sometimes I think you need to consider yourself more, but I know you gain your strength from the goodness of helping others, and I admire that, and aspire to be like you, though I am not as giving or social I do believe in helping others, you are a very good role model, thank you for so much including your kindness. I struggle, much of it is a defect in me, something I cannot seem to conquer, but know this, your guidance and faith, helps me enormously. And know also, I’m here for you in equal measure. It cuts both ways.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is deep. It comes with pictures of a life journey and the common ending, urging to leave markings that will make us remembered for being true to ourselves.

    Like

  2. Stunning, truly. Oh and this part, “to strike just once

    and leave the deed blackening the tree

    long it stands marked for future generations to remark”

    Oh to leave a mark indeed… sometimes i tell myself that it doesn’t matter if anyone knows me/reads me/buys my books etc NOW…maybe someone will appreciate me long after I’m gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Melanie for your lovely comments and reading this poem. I totally agree about that and that’s how I feel also, that even if in this life it is not anything, maybe one day, and even if it is not, so what? Influence one person and you have that success. xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A life lesson, journey, & experience.
    The connection of birth, growth, & present.
    One should always leave a mark to help us understand our
    where we come from and what experiences you’ve all left as a mark foot print of ourselves and what we can still continue to go forth.

    Beautifully stunning and great body work of poetic brilliance. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

