Shards

dscn1772-2There is an edge

ever-changing, indescribable

and as you turn your shoulder

thinking the sun has only burnt

one side

the other is latticed

in marks of your exposure

as things of darkness will crawl

deep inside you like a well without end

and build with whitened fingers

their hungry descent

until you are changed

even as you taste the salt of your tears

staining your face like damage

blackening light into rotten parts

tearing your wings to pieces

it’s been so long you forgot

once you were able to climb

high into sky and feel something

unknown now like a lover

who has turned to enemy and stranger

instead without warning

the edge presents itself

in terrible hour like a sharp knife

one moment you are clinking glasses

smiling into the camera

and others remark

goodness she’s aged well

look how happy she looks

the next you are ripping the lies

from your arms, all that glitters

tearing into shreds artifice

tying together knots in hope

they can end

the sudden terror inhabiting you

always cruelest when it shows

just as you believe you might

have escaped

yoking you back

get on your knees

here you are, here you are

your toes grip the edge

you see the emptiness below

much like what lies inside

untethered, unnamed

for who can put a word

to terror? to hopelessness?

who can place a finger on the place

the rot set in and began

to devour the person you once were?

leaving a scarecrow

others do not see inside

the stuffing ready to ignite

they only see the perfect smile

accoutrements without truth

glittering like shards of glass

scattered in the night

48 thoughts on “Shards

      1. I can feel this one. By the way, I meant to tell you, I finally finished Persuasion which I didn’t much care for to be honest, and I’ve started Gone to Earth. I absolutely love it! The imagery is wonderful, full of surprises that sound exactly right. Thank you so much for introducing me to Mary Webb. I should have trusted to my mother’s taste after all, she had all her books 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Right? Do you see your work in hers? I do. You both know how to bring to life in fiction prose and poetry the truth of nature so vividly a city dweller would long to walk in the forest

        Like

      3. Reading her descriptions, I certainly envy the images she finds, and the density of the writing. She does exactly what modern authors are told not to do (the show not tell cardinal sin) and proves just what a load of bollocks modern critics preach.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ah but envy not, as you are equal, that is exactly why upon reading you I seized upon her work as a similar in the way you both know how to unveil and whilst you are not a dense writer, you are able to bring many things into one poem or description in such a way without overcrowding the ‘scene’ you are so right though about modern critics TOTALLY agree bollocks is right!

        Like

      5. Reading Jane Austen for the first time in years, the thought that struck me very quickly was how she would have been bawled out of class if she’d been writing now. All those pages of insight into a character given in the form of backstory and explanation would so not have been allowed today. Show not tell! Styles of writing change, and just because showing is quick and easy doesn’t make it better or the only way.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Exactly. I personally am not a huge fan of Austen but respect her enormously. The detail maiden style reflects their long days sans technology and immediacy, at times such detail can drown the modern reader, other times reminding us of what we miss in our rush through life. I can only stand it in small doses but conversely i detest the superficiality of so many modern writers especially the formulaic MFA graduates who almost write to template.

        Like

      7. I didn’t either I thought you would be interested because I had no idea he died so young and did so much during such a short time! A bit Mary Shelly in his ability to do things so early in life right?

        Like

      8. She was utterly outstanding no wonder with her ancestry but still. Frankenstein is so underrated as simply gothic fiction yet it is a marvel of perception and of a 19yr old it seems impossible yet Anne Franke, many had such early gifts, less so nowadays I think!

        Like

      9. Quite true, definitely the opposite. I put down as many books as i finish, due to this. I used to force myself to finish them but why? I’d rather read something I love than prove I can finish a much hyped book I dislike

        Like

      1. No pressure then? 😉 I find selfishly I like your work because I can relate to it, but I’m certain even if I could not relate to it, I would still love it but probably for more objective reasons. Objectively I love your work but I am very biased because you ‘talk my language’ and I find healing and hope in those words.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Shards – SEO
  2. My wings have been torn to pieces for a while now. How are yours holding up? Thanks for liking my posts, BTW. I’ve been looking at your stuff for a couple of years now. Funny how time flies. Hope you’re doing well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These lines got me and got me sad:

    “even as you taste the salt of your tears

    staining your face like damage

    blackening light into rotten parts”

    The outside world is damaged, every human out there bruised.
    I cried knowing how much I miss my grandpa and seeing how humans endlessly continue to cling onto their greed and selfishness and don’t realize how beautiful everything around us is meaningful and hopeful.

    Humans destroy each other…but some of us are strong together in the fight against evil. And how to fight it, with love. Love is the ultimate weapon.

    One of my favorite poems by you sis. 🙂

    Like

  4. Candice Louisa,
    Oh, my! This one is in your top ten saddest.
    You write:
    “for who can put a word to terror? to hopelessness?
    who can place a finger on the place the rot set in and began to devour the person you once were?”
    I want to say “you can” to the screen,
    but the character cannot hear me.
    That “edge” just kind of jumps out when we least expect it.
    Quite powerful.
    Larry

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

