Root

tumblr_static_art-woman-shapes-patterns-fantasy-gothic-red-portrait-painting-surrealism-headdressOnce long ago

I tried to get you out

from under my skin

and it felt like webbed hands without dexterity

scrabbling beneath waves for fallen stones

 

You

are as much of me as anything could

you’ve become in all these years

my root

 

I heard those who favor

the taste of earthbound vine

drink from what grows beneath

surface

 

That is true of you and I

we shift like light

silvering between spectrum

attached in unison

in the solace of a penny

tarnished surface, shiny beneath

inhabiting the hidden side

of each other

49 thoughts on “Root

      1. I hope the problem has cleared up. You’ll be feeling tired. The poems won’t go away 🙂 I don’t know root drinks, but when I was a kid in Yorkshire there was a local drink called dandelion and burdock that looked like coca cola but was made with plants. We loved it, but I don’t think it exported outside the county 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Bet it was better too! Did you ever see the tv show West Riding? That’s how I know it. I love Yorkshire accents and sayings so much. Now I’m dying for a drink of one! You made me laugh with the posh bit 😉

        Like

      3. It was just the way it worked out. When I went to university there was so much else to do that watching TV seemed pathetic. I never bought one and nor did husband. Never crossed our minds to be honest. We were offered one by someone who felt we were missing out but we didn’t accept it.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Right? But likewise they have sarasparilla etc. I read recently that Cornish Pasties that I used to love, they actually came over from a pastie from Mexico when Mexican workers were invited to Cornwall to build the railways. During that time the Cornish made their own version of this delicious Mexican pastry, thus the Cornish pastie was born but so far flung in origin! Then Jamacian’s appropriated it because they loved it and they spiced it up into the Jamacian pastie, but it came from Mexico to begin with! Fascinating really

        Like

      5. I don’t want to burst any bubbles, and I don’t know where you got your info from, but I think it was the other way round. The Cornish pastie was made for the tin miners as far back as the 17th century. There were no Mexican railway workers since the Brits had Irish slaves—they didn’t need to import labour from Mexico! I think the Cornish miners took the pastie with them when they went to Mexico. The Welsh went to Patagonia after all, so why not?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. ” in the solace of a penny “…… Love that imagery as the appearance of the penny will, without doubt, change over time yet the value remains constant. Thank you for sharing your gifts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

