Black hibiscus

Later-development-of-MOURNING-themeThe flower is black

it looks like a dark purple that has never

seen day

a velvet dress with stamen

the petals are erotic and familiar

with your need and your thirst

you could be a hummingbird

too fast in your urge

and the black flower

may be a hybrid

not entirely natural

its size and grandeur mark it

impossible of nature

you should be outraged

but amazement overtakes protest

after all … apple trees have long been fiddled with

the melding of one with another to cause

grafted sweetness

the same is true of all we deem

natural

they have told you many times

you are not quite earthbound

so why then should it matter?

if beauty is not entirely dictate by natures rule

but the tinkering thumb of man

so like the softness of a diaphanous dress

you shall wear once

on the day of your marriage

when you give your hand

not yet marred by sun

still unclaimed and unburnt

and this day, you are plucked

to be admired afterward

pressed behind glass

a flower blooming

in darkness

43 thoughts on “Black hibiscus

  1. This is beautifully done, Warrioress. And you are a most beautiful bloom with a quality that speaks directly to my soul. Love you, my Queen of Thorns. ❤

  2. In my youth I worked for a man who bred irises. His goal was a black iris. He never quite got it. I love your description of the black flower.

  3. The silver and purple warriors have your back sista, leave the unworthy in the dust of their trite insincerity, you need them like I need Monday mornings (not)

  4. A flower blooming in darkness! That’s a line that’ll stick with me. Your imagery leading up to that is richer and full, as always. I feel the emotions and power between the lines. And behind them, and above….

  5. This is a very sad poem to me …. never realizing your potential, trapped..because of the dictates of society “pressed” upon you…. to never be fully realized is one of the great tragedies of man and woman… 🙂

  6. The first thing I ever noted about Ft. Worth was the abundance of flowers everywhere. It is in my head whenever I think of that city. SA is also quite verdant (not nearly as much as you though) but the black flor de Jamaica takes my breath away.

  7. There is a story I read once, unfortunately I do not recall which, but it had that line (flower blooming in darkness) I never forgot it. I expect it was someone like Baudelaire but I hope one day I shall find that line. Thank you dear one.

  8. I bet they have those flor de Jamaica all over where you live? There are some here, they only last through June because of the heat but they are so beautiful.

  9. Thank you so much both for reading this and commenting, it is very appreciated. Sorry for the late reply I have been feeling a little under the weather. Thank you again!

Comments are closed.