Figure eight

Acrobat dancer attached to a hot air balloon dancing through the sky at Festival Number 6 in Portmeirion WalesIt is true

the feel of grit

kissing skin

skinning shins

learning mistakes

through trial

those forbidden sins

made real behind school wall

where youthful fumble with

strange hooks and buttons to release

their wail against the world

they know not yet

the best comes when

all foible and tinsel is left

to keep night awake

whilst we slip into our coats

leaving tracks across the lake

and skating like dreamers too soluble to wake

turn and cut messages out of powdered ice

in our heady retreat from compromise

growing toward our years in eager release

no more push-up bras needed nor

pinching heels except of course when

drowsy with midnight madness we

reenact those anxious days

now unruffled by the sweaty fears of

first vintage

you are able to carry your own

I shall undress in turn

finding your desire wicked ever more

potent in the slowness of our motion

two figures cutting out figure eights

lit by yellow glaze of moon

wringing its hands in humor

for too soon we will be thawed

returning with pinked cheeks

holding hands close the door

on another year of love

made burgundy under covers

where firelight moves us near

to each others gentle warmth

24 thoughts on “Figure eight

  1. I think I’ll like the remake and this sure as well my dear friend:) I’m sure you could’ve reclaimed your site unless someone grabbed it

  2. Hi! Sister. You have started off the new year with a creative beautiful well crafted and written poetry. Glad your back! and I’m happy and proud of you sis. Bless you and I love you so much. ❤ 🙂

  3. You are welcome. 🙂

    I’m always proud of us, you make me feel safe and you always complete my life. I’m such a lucky person to have you in my life. Thank you for everything.

    P.S Got a new poem up. And pull out the dictionary for this one. 🙂

  4. Oh as usual I hadn’t thought of that! You are so right! The eight! Have you read that book? I thought it was great! I have a book to send you actually on that similar subject I will as soon as I pay off my credit card from my sojourn to Europe.

  5. I didn’t know there’s a book called that! I was thinking more of Chinese numerology and the significance of 8, a truly magical number 🙂
    The book sounds intriguing ….

  6. I’m surprised you couldn’t restore it. I’m I guess ok. I’m spending more to live than I’m making. I’m in a weekly up the block from work. Prostitution is rampant here. I’m hoping I get somewhere soon. I’m relying on luck and have finally got some.

Comments are closed.